Search This Blog

Monday, 20 August 2012

Finally got my house :D

So, since the last time I posted what has happened. I realise the vast majority of you could not give a flying fuck what I've been doing but hey I'm going to write it anyway. So from Tuesday to Saturday last week I was in London seeing in my friends, and more importantly collecting my keys to my new kickass house in London. So I will be living in Bow next year, not the safest place in the world. My house however is pretty damn amazing. It is a 6 bedroom place, over 4 floors, of which the top contains our kitchen/living room, which contains a balcony that overlooks Canary Wharf and various other places around there. It was truly awesome being there. So, I went out quite a bit, which obviously involved a hell of a lot of drinking in my friends and my parts. Drinking a bottle of Glenns Vodka before going out is never the best of ideas, so it's best for me to say that a lot of that night is a bit missing. Although this seems to happen a lot to me, perhaps a sign I should cut down the alcohol but I doubt that will happen! So other than chilling around it was a fun few days, of sun, alcohol and being around my friends, which I love doing so much! I also watched a few of the Batman animation films this week, including Batman: Year One, and Batman: Under the Red Hood, both of which are absolutely amazing and definitely worth a watch for any Batman fans out there. I only recently really got into these animation superhero films but I got to say they may well be better than these big produced films like Batman: The Dark Knight. So much more story going on, and with the amount of films there are, you don't feel like you are missing much on the story lines from the comics. Don't really know what else to say, I think this next week will be rather dull, although the girlfriend should be coming back from holiday next week, so I will endeavour to see her at some point. Until then I will continue to sing terribly to Hugh Laurie - You don't know my mind (fantastic song, check it out)! Peace out and have a great week :D

Monday, 13 August 2012

So I've done first year

So, after a long, long gap year, I finally got to it, to my first year at Barts and The London. It has been an absolute blast, and I've tried so many new things, amongst a hell of a lot of drinking! So let's see here, I wanted to get back into the blogging business I guess, having finished first year I realise I have more than enough time to do this, and writing down some of my experiences will help me to not forget anything. Realistically I would like to make this into a weekly thing, starting now and hopefully becoming ongoing until the end of my medical school career, and potentially on from there. So, back to my life right now. I am currently sitting at home, with DareDevil on in the background, so overall not bad. I am off to London tomorrow to grab the keys to my house, and I'll stay there for a few days to catch up with friends. It'll also give me something fun to blog about I guess. So yeah, I shall speak to anyone willing to read this soon! See you next week :D

Tuesday, 7 June 2011

Another dull week.....month....whatever

Hmm well what can I say, I really do wish I was on one of those gap years that you hear all about, where this person goes travelling here there and everywhere having the best times of their lives. Unfortunately, mine is the polar opposite...I spend my life going to and from work as well as travelling to and from Brighton. Although the latter I rather enjoy.

So, since I last posted what fun and amazing things do I have to tell you about. Hmmm...let's see.....well I had to work some more night shifts which, well, is very, very easy money. I spent the whole night playing sudoku, the nintendo ds, as well as doing some much needed reading. The whole thing was very relaxed. I have also finally booked my driving test for a date that I do not wish disclose due to superstitious reasons.

I spent last weekend in Brighton as well, and had a fantastic weekend. The weather was nice and sunny so me and the girlfriend went into town, and spent half the day chilling on the beach. We also decided to eat out cheap at this buffet vegetarian curry place. Overall, it wasn't too bad for something under a tenner, but to be quite frank I missed the meat...I bit too much potato for my liking. We spent the whole of Sunday just sat in bed watching films, other than for the brief moments we got out to make cheesy nachos and flapjacks! Overall though a good weekend was had, although I won't be seeing her for a while, so the next few weeks are going to be rather dull I assure you...sorry!

Well, I guess that's all for now folks...Peace Out!

Tuesday, 17 May 2011

Guess I oughta post....

Well I am fully recovered now from my appendectomy and am now, *sigh*, back at work. My most favourite place in the whole world......maybe......not. All I spend my days doing now is waiting until that final day. Don't get me wrong, I love doing what I do, I have just come to the conclusion that the working world needs to wait for a bit while I have fun at university. However, I have both some good and bad news which are sort of intertwined.

Basically, I had to see an orthopaedic consultant about my knee and was told that my knee is pretty damn screwed. Now this happened 3 years ago now, so I've been coping rather well I think! I have an ACL tear, damage to my PCL, as well as potential miniscus damage due to the two previous injuries. So, to the good news, I have a surgery in July in order to have a look at it, and then another one after that apparently to fully fix the ACL tear and whatever is wrong with the knee. Effectively, this means I will be ending work earlier than I thought, which is brilliant!

Well, let's see, what else has happened....oh yeh.....I have finally, after 2 years of laziness started learning to drive again! This is definitely necessary seeing as I really need to have passed by September, and with emminent surgery, this brings the date forward ever further. However, on the plus side, I have been told that I am much better than he expected and am pretty much test ready now! W00T! Now I just have to have a few more lessons, followed by the nerve-racking test.

Anywhoseywho, that's all for now folks!

Tuesday, 3 May 2011

Guess Who's Back

Well after a rather large hiatus I feel the need to get back into the world of blogging again and I feel now may well be a good time to start. So let's recap, I am re-applicant to medical school having failed miserably first time round with not even one single interview! I thus decided to get my act together and re-apply to medical school during my gap year. So, to my second year of applications. I am pleased to say it was a successful year. I got one rejection from Brighton and Sussex Medical School, which sort of annoyed me. My other three schools gave me interviews, so Newcastle, Barts and Kings College. The latter I withdrew from before my interview, and the 2 former I received offers from! WOOO! I am thus incredibly proud to say that on September 17th I should become an official Barts and the London Medic!

So, what have I been getting up to then during my time away from the blogosphere! Well, I am not going to lie, it has been rather boring, having pretty much being working, or sitting most of the time, and in between these busy activities I have been with the girlfriend. So generally a pretty standard few months for me to be honest. But I have been trying to get things done, such as my student finance which is all done, finally, as well as sorting out all of my health checks, and accommodation for September. So overall, I have been relatively productive.

I am now just sort of waiting anxiously for September, and to finally start university so I can have things to do and to get on with. It should be an interesting few months I hope, and I am planning to keep you all updated on what is happening.....hope being the operative word!

Well I guess that is all for now folks!

Sunday, 9 January 2011

Interview 2 :D

Wow I just got a second interview from Barts and the London in January!

Never in a million years did I think I would get 2 interviews!

Sunday, 21 November 2010

INTERVIEW!!!

So, after just over a year of applications, I have my first interview from Newcastle University in December. I presume that was because of my UKCAT but either way I am absolutely delighted and am preparing like mad at the moment. I cannot wait to hear from the other universities now, even though I know it could be bad news.

Peace out and have an awesome day dudes!